Szostak-gazel-portraits-2-0203-edited approved

Spellbinding vocals are complemented by a dance-inducing steel drum, which punctuates the track amid spacious, synth-led breakdowns, reaffirming the track’s intoxicating melodies.

Gazel explains of the single, “‘Walk On Land’ is a song to celebrate the interconnectedness of man and the natural environment, and the joy inherent in remembering that the nature of things has no true separation deeper than appearances.”

‘Walk On Land’ is the fifth single to be taken from her enthralling debut album,Gazel’s Book Of Souls,following the captivating ‘Rain Is Coming’, ‘Mina’s Hymn’, ‘Pointing At The Moon’ and the ethereal ‘You’re Not Funny’. The album will be released on October 4th.

“When writing ‘Gazel’s Book of Souls’ I knew I wanted to create a mythological structure of the unconscious mind - like an imaginary psychic map,”says Gazel.“I wanted a theme for each song, each representing a different aspect of the human psychic tendency - grief, growth, technology, symbolism, problems of identity and belief in the mind’s fabrications. ‘Gazel’s Book of Souls’ is music that explores dreams, consciousness and the great mystery of the human mind.”

The album follows the myth-like story of a young girl who seeks to find the cause of a mysterious fire which destroyed her village, and in the process encounters a variety of ‘souls’ who dwell in her town’s collective unconscious, each of which is represented by a different track on the album. Influenced by Jungian archetypes, mystical philosophy and the folk music of her Middle-Eastern roots, the album is an eclectic and captivating blend of subtle electronica, folk and pop.

Following its release, Gazel will be taking her immersive and captivating live performance blending sonic, visual and spoken word elements on a run of headline shows, with dates in Manchester, Liverpool, Birmingham, Brighton and London.

Gazel has previously performed sold-out shows at venues including the Borderline, The Waiting Room, Birthdays and St Pancras Old Church, and appeared at this year’s Sound City. She has also received extensive radio support from the likes of Huw Stephens at Radio 1 and Tom Robinson at 6Music, as well as recently performing a session for talkRADIO.

1. The Forest
2. Pointing At The Moon
3. Mina’s Hymn
4. Walk On Land
5. Book Of Souls
6. Half Humming
7. Cloudpatterns
8. The Door
9. Rain Is Coming
10. The Magic Interval
11. You’re Not Funny
12. Ximena
13. Reprise (Book Of Souls)
14. The Night Concierge

10/10 – The Eagle Inn, Manchester
13/10 – The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham
19/10 – Sound Basement, Liverpool
20/10 – The Brunswick, Brighton
04/11 – St Pancras Old Church, London

Buy tickets and pre-order the album here: