Kodaline May2022 Jennifer Mc Cord 1


Kodaline announce new live album 'Our Roots Run Deep'

When Kodaline stepped on stage at Dublin’s cozy, sold-out Olympia Theatre in early March 2022, vocalist/multi-instrumentalist, Steve Garrigan; bassist/vocalist, Jason Boland; guitarist/vocalist, Mark Prendergast; and drummer/vocalist Vinny May felt a deep sense of renewal, of their friendship, their brotherhood, and their musical community.

The beloved Irish quartet also felt a sense of release. Two years of pandemic-related separation, from each other, and the audience they had meticulously built since 2011, had underscored how essential that symbiotic relationship really is.

It's that sense of release that permeates Our Roots Run Deep, Kodaline’s brand-new, stripped-down, 17-track live album and Fantasy Records debut, due October 14th, 2022. Pre-order available HERE. Watch the live performance video of ‘Brother’ HERE.

Produced with pristine clarity by fellow Irish cohort, Phillip Magee, Our Roots Run Deep features a cross-section of the group’s most treasured tunes and three illuminating covers in over 80-minutes of music.

“This album is something we’ve wanted to do for a very longtime, it’s also something entirely new to us,” explain the band. “It’s a stripped-down acoustic show with no click, which basically means, it’s very raw and unfiltered. We wanted to try and capture the energy and atmosphere of the night as best we could. It was an intimate show recorded in one of our favourite venues in the world, in Dublin City at home in Ireland. We hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed playing it.”

Known for the soaring, sing-along pop-rock anthems and lush, yearning ballads that have topped radio and streaming charts around the globe, for these special intimate performances Kodaline utilized largely acoustic instruments including cellist, David Doyle and keyboardist/vocalist, David Prendergast who help give the warm, living room sound added layers of texture and depth.

The quieter musical beds pushed the band’s emotionally driven lyrics and intricately woven harmonies to the forefront, deepening their poignant resonance even further. It also left room for the voices of their ecstatic fans, who filled the open spaces every chance they could!

While too plentiful to list in full, the set’s highlights include the highly apropos opener ‘Wherever You Are’, the lead track from their latest LP, 2020’s One Day At A Time, ‘High Hopes’, the lead single from the band’s debut album, 2013’s In A Perfect World and ‘Brother’, a moving cut from the group’s third studio album, Politics of Living, which is now being released as the first track from Our Roots Run Deep.

The band include three interesting and revealing covers here as well: a brooding, dramatic turn on Michael Jackson’s ‘Billie Jean’, a mostly a cappella performance of Sam Cooke’s soul classic ‘Bring It On Home To Me’, and a taste of ‘Dirty Old Town’, the near Irish standard popularized by The Dubliners and The Pogues.

It can be argued that in some ways the international chart-topping hitmakers, and world-wide concert draws, who are massively synched on film and television, have been hiding in plain sight.

Our Roots Run Deep is a spectacular showcase for the purity of their artistry and the profound musical impact they’ve had on a generation. Their next step is around the corner, till then, this is Kodaline—unguarded, simple, essential.


  1. Wherever You Are
  2. Ready
  3. Brother
  4. Brand New Day
  5. Billie Jean
  6. The One
  7. Moving On
  8. The Answer
  9. Dirty Old Town
  10. Love Like This
  11. Sometimes
  12. Love Will Set You Free
  13. High Hopes
  14. Bring It On Home To Me
  15. Perfect World
  16. Everything Works Out In The End
  17. All I Want

Our Roots Run Deep will be released digitally and in an array of physical formats including CD / Standard Cream LP / Limited Indie & HMV Maroon LP / Irish Exclusive Green LP as well as special fan bundles available at kodaline.com including limited signed prints & exclusive double cassette.

Kodaline have announced an extensive Our Roots Run Deep European headline tour running through October and November 2022. Ahead of this they will play a number of shows this month with Malahide Castle tomorrow (June 17th), Sea Sessions in Donegal, Ireland on June 18th and Lytham Festival on June 30th. Full dates are listed below and tickets are on sale now at https://kodaline.com/

17 Dublin – Malahide Castle
18 Donegal – Sea Sessions
30 Lancashire – Lytham Festival

05 Strasbourg - La Laiterie
06 Brussels - Ancienne Belgique
07 Tilburg - 013
08 Cologne - Carlswerk Victoria
10 Hamburg - Fabrik
12 Stockholm – Slaktkyrkan
13 Oslo - Rockefeller
14 Copenhagen - Vega Main Hall
15 Berlin – Astra
17 Poznan - Tama
18 Warsaw - Stodola
19 Vienna – Gasometer
20 Krakow – Studio
22 Budapest - Akvarium Klub
24 Prague – Forum
25 Munich – Tonhalle
26 Frankfurt – Batschkapp

11 Madrid - Riviera
13 Milan – Fabrique
14 Bologna - Estragon
15 Rome - Orion
17 Lyon - Le Transbordeur
18 Stuttgart - Longhorn
19 Luxembourg - Den Atelier
20 Zurich - X-Tra
22 Paris - Bataclan
23 Amsterdam – Paradiso

Kodaline May2022 Jennifer Mc Cord 1

Other news from this artist