Kate Havnevik LIGHTSHIP ARTWORK new2400x2400px

Kate Havnevik

Kate Havnevik announces 'The Lightship Conversations'

Ahead of the release of her fourth album Lightship on January 21st via Continentica Records, Norwegian experimental artist, composer, producer and musician Kate Havnevik has released the first episode of The Lightship Conversations, a descriptive interview series about specific tracks on the new album.

The series features conversations between Kate and long-term producing partner Guy Sigsworth, hosted by Norwegian TV and radio presenter Per Sundnes. The series starts by discussing latest single ‘Dream Her To Life’, with the conversation available to listen to here. Episodes will be released weekly on Kate’s YouTube channel and the series will finish on February 9th.

The forthcoming album Lightship is a stunning aural artwork of immense expansive sounds, which has already been receiving great early reviews from the likes of MOJO and Uncut.

The record is full of rare instrumentation and glorious songwriting, which delivers Kate Havnevik’s most progressive and beautiful record to date. It has been named after London’s most unique floating recording studio on the River Thames, Lightship 95, where the pair recorded the album.

Lightship includes previously released singles such as the majestic ‘Taking Flight’, which was created with the baroque instrument virginals, while the pulsating electronic pop track ‘Into Dark’ has been produced with a ring modulator and FM synth. The wistful ‘Starlight Fires’ features the celesta and creates a fairytale atmosphere with a celebrative beat.

Latest single ‘Dream Her To Life’ is a curious and playful track featuring Kate’s stunning vocals, wide-ranging harmonies, handclaps, and pizzicato cello played on keys, which together produce a dreamy feel-good glacial anthem full of optimism.

Accomplished cellist Ian Burdge (Max Richter, Nitin Sawhney) also performs on the record. He features on the stunning orchestral opener ‘Come Back’, as well as the darkly sinister, yet ultimately serene song ‘Alta’. The latter plays as if to soundtrack a Nordic Noir crime drama and features lush strings alongside a siren serenade from Kate, where her voice muses with beautiful tones yet no lyrics.

Talvin Singh OBE (Björk, Madonna, Massive Attack) also features on the record and provides his unique blend of electronic tabla playing to the widescreen ambient escape to paradise ‘Zamami’, inspired by a remote island in the Okinawa region of Japan.

Lightship is a wide-reaching record, which reflects artists free from restraints, revelling in escapism and finding comfort in change. It is a voyage into uncharted territories, where bountiful treasures are there to be found.

Kate Havnevik will celebrate the release of Lightship with a headline show on album release day (January 21st) at London’s St. Pancras Old Church. Billed An Evening With Kate Havnevik, it will be a show of two halves, with a short interval in the middle, featuring Kate perform her esteemed catalogue alongside Lightship album collaborators Guy Sigsworth and Ian Burdge. Tickets are on sale now via Eventbrite.


  1. Come Back
  2. Dream Her To Life
  3. Into Dark
  4. Space Ark
  5. Taking Flight
  6. Camp High Hunt Low
  7. Belong
  8. Alta
  9. Zamami ft. Talvin Singh
  10. Starlight Fires

“Kate Havnevik has always been good at inventing intimate dreamscapes… Lightship shows her returning to a more personal, experimental approach, with collaborator Guy Sigsworth enhancing and accentuating her choral delivery, quirky textures and shimmering skittering melodies”

“Kate Havnevik makes manicured electro-pop that radiates tinselly sparkle and cosy winter warmth”

Kate Havnevik LIGHTSHIP ARTWORK new2400x2400px